The Philosophy of Me

Your thoughts become your words, your words become your behaviour, your behaviour becomes your habits, your habits become your values, your values becomes your destiny. Keep them beautiful.

Your thoughts become your words, your words become your behaviour, your behaviour becomes your habits, your habits become your values, your values become your destiny. Keep them beautiful.

Inspired doesn’t even begin to sum up what caused me to write this blog piece. It’s been an up and down past few weeks, and it took me a while, but I finally tapped into what would make me feel better: writing. Here is my (intended to be short) list, which grew exponentially, in which I share a few concepts that I live by. Naturally this list is ever evolving, but for now, it’s something visceral to keep me grounded. Here it is, the philosophy… of me.

1. Smile often
2. Do things that scare you; it promotes growth
3. Never stop learning
4. Collect your thoughts before sharing with others
5. Be honest with those that deserve your honesty
6. Relive memories in your head; it instantly evokes a blissful feeling
7. Resist jealousy; it’s incredibly unattractive and why be hard on yourself
8. Consistently work to improve yourself
9. Be grateful
10. Use your manners and don’t yell; I can’t hear you when you do
11. Be active (moving takes many different forms)
12. Plan; but remember to be spontaneous
13. Give more than take; listen more than speak
14. Stop disliking things about your physical appearance; what’s the point? Learn to love your dissimilarities and your unique traits. Life is too short to disapprove of yourself
15. Hug habitually
16. Don’t fear the future
17. Focus on the positive in every situation
18. Ask, don’t assume
19. Let yourself fall in love
20. Most of all, believe in yourself, your abilities, and your most fanatical dreams

Countless edits and views of these ideas elicits great pride within myself. It’s more rewarding than I had imagined being able to look back at a list of ways in which I live my day to day life; my rules of thumb. Why don’t you try it? What’s your manifesto for life?

Leave a Reply

