Cooking Guide: All My Favorites

Yams: Just add cinnamon.
Yams: Just add cinnamon.

Fresh or baked, kale is packed full of goodness.
Fresh or baked, kale is packed full of goodness.

Home cooked comfort.
Home cooked comfort.

I’ll admit it: I’ve been dubbed the ‘choosy, hard to please, selective eater’ within the majority of my friend circles and family. My diet excludes wheat gluten, dairy and meat. Regarding protein, I do eat fish, namely salmon and tuna, however I pass on red meats, chicken and all other animal meats.

I am no Martha Stewart in the kitchen, in fact, I would much prefer to clean a house than to cook a meal. However, recently I have found the refuge in cooking; it truly can be relaxing, rewarding and a fantastic way to unwind after a long day.

This week I thought I would give a window into the fundamental foods which I build my diet around. Listed below are a collection of simple, wholesome cooking ingredients and ways to work with them.

Grilled vegetables- My favorites include red pepper, broccoli and carrots. Easy to wash, cut and place on a baking sheet in the oven for 20 minutes with a touch of olive oil and seasoning
Cabbage and yam soup- This is a cold weather favorite. Half a head of cabbage (which has far more health benefits than I would have imagined), a few yams cut up and just the right blend of curry and turmeric powder (Also holds a ton of health bonuses)
Cinnamon yams- A friend of mine turned me on to baked yams. Again, it’s a quick and pain free meal addition. Wash, leave the skin on, chop into slices, throw into a dish with a hint of cinnamon and honey and 40 minutes later they’re cooked!
Quinoa salad- Quinoa is n absloute esdsdential in myy diet. Quinoa is a seed; it provides all 9 eeesntial amino acids making it a compelete, plant based protein ideal for vegetarians. It cooks in 15 minutes and provides an excellent base to sevre with fresh kale, pepper, toamtao, avocado, beans and steamed broccoli.
Dahl- A combination of Indian spices and lentils, dahl is another high protein, high fiber meal. Serve with vegetables (traditionally potatoes, carrots, cauliflower and peas) and dinner is served.
Baked salmon- Nothing beats baked salmon. I suggest cooking the fillet with a small, small bit of olive or coconut oil, lemon, fresh garlic and plenty of spice which provides flavour without the calories found in rich sauces.

Staples:
This easy, grab and go snack foods provide the body with what it needs.
Hard boiled eggs
Granny Smith apples
Bananas (Ideal for pre-workout, especially early morning when the thought o of eating before fitness is unappealing in itself)
Unsalted almonds and pecans
Fresh vegetables including tomatoes, peppers, asparagus, broccoli, kale, carrots, cauliflower

Although I always opt for fresh meals, sometimes a stocked pantry is the key to making a dish come to life. I recommend having these go to options on hand:
Chickpeas and black beans
Black or brown rice
Quinoa
Honey mustard (One of the lowest calorie condiment options)
Tuna

I hope this post inspires you in the kitchen! Enjoy your Monday!

Leave a Reply

