Friday Five Moments

I like to pick favorites. For someone who struggles with decision making (which lipstick do I wear today?) I am very aware of what I do like. Halloween has always been my favorite holiday, but I recently decided that Thanksgiving is my favorite long weekend. It trumps all the other ones with its crisp air, lovely colored leaves, sweet smelling kitchens and many fond family memories. This Friday, I’m taking a look back at the past week and best weekend of the year.

Olsen Twin Throwback

Olsen Twin Throwback

Ghoulish movie nights | Nothing beats a good old fashioned movie night, complete with treats and a long catch up. Adjusting to graduated life, I decided to spend Friday night with my sister watching one of my all time favorite Halloween movies, Double Double Toil and Trouble staring the Olsen twins. My sister and I shared laughs about our long time infatuation with the children’s film, all while chatting and enjoying our time shared.

Cupcakes in theme

Cupcakes in theme

Tutu... check!

Tutu… check!

Shabby chic | One my dearest friends celebrated her birthday this past weekend with a surprise tutus and tiaras, princess themed party. She is constantly tripping over herself to plan brilliant soirees for all of us, so this time we treated her. Being able to give back to someone whose generosity is never ending was one of the the most marvelous moments of my weekend.

A pink October

A pink October

Breast cancer run | October is pink month and its all about raising awareness and funds for breast cancer. My family and I partook in the city festivities by running a fun, non-competitive 5 kilometer race. Events such as this one are a reminder to have a constant appreciation for your health.

Sharing a moment post marathon

Sharing a moment post marathon

Seasonal fresh cuts

Seasonal blooms

Marathon moments | Thanksgiving weekend is also home to the Royal Victoria Marathon. With graduation as my sole goal, racing took a backseat this year. Instead I went to cheer on my sister as she ran her first marathon. I popped by a local market and hand selected a seasonal bouquet of dahlias, roses and sweet peas to celebrate her accomplishment. I couldn’t be more proud.

Homemade goodness

Homemade goodness

These are a few of my favorite things

These are a few of my favorite things

Graduation celebration | To top off a splendid weekend, my family celebrated my recent undergraduate graduation by making me a homemade cake, as well as adorning me in my favorite: rose gold! Challenging to see, but pictured above are my new drop earrings, hoops and matching necklace. My sister and her husband also got me a gag gift of icing, because they know just how much I love it!

Thanksgiving this year was is one worth remembering, and worthy of infinite thanks.

Leave a Reply

